Some people say that advertising is extremely succesfull at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There have been conflicting views regarding the effects of advertising for a long time. Whilst some people think that we are not affected by advertisements anymore because of their prevalence, others think that it is a highly effective method to make us buy things which I also definitely agree with. This essay will discuss both sides. Today, advertising content is everywhere. On the roads, in our social media accounts such as Instagram and YouTube, TV and all around internet-accessible platforms. It is so common that people start thinking like we are not affected by it anymore. Because they got so bored with the content’s similarity and seeing them everywhere, they feel like advertisements lost their appealness. For instance, when I first started using Instagram there were a lot of influencers trying to pursue us to buy goods. Due to this situation, I stopped following these people and believed that I would no longer buy what they offered. However, even though we think that we are not affected, our subconscious takes all their messages. With today’s advanced knowledge of psychology, we do not even realize what the advertisement is. There are lots of strategies many companies use for a long time such as neuromarketing. For instance, Camel, the cigarette brand, made agreements with lots of pubs, cafes and restaurants to put a camel symbol on their tables in order to create familiarity while people decide which smoking brand are they gonna buy. With this strategy, their profit went up 35% per year. In conclusion, whilst some people believe advertisements are so common that we have no longer affect them, others believe that they are so successful in making us buy things. In my opinion, although we reject it, we are still under their influence with their unknown methods.