Each country censors the media in one way or the other. What are the pros and cons of censorship in the media?

The press is censored in different extents depending on the nation. The idea that the press should have unlimited freedom has some merit. However, this carries detrimental effects on society. This essay intends to discuss the merits and demerits of censorship in the media. On the one hand, journalism has acted in an unscrupulous manner lately. For this reason, promoting a limitation in the information the media is able to share could be a huge advantage. The fact is that, with the innovation of technology and means of entertainment, the gutter press has become more popular. As a result, many famous and political figures have suffered from an invasion of their privacy, accompanied by chequebook journalism. For instance, politicians and celebrities are constantly attacked by libellous news, which results in many newspapers, magazines and TV programs getting sued. Under these circumstances, if the government controlled the press, there would be more honest journalism. On the other hand, it is known that suppressing content in news and articles brings enormous demerits. The most important one would be the hindering of freedom of expression. With suppressed media, there is an impossibility of hearing dissenting voices and opinions. Furthermore, access to current affairs would be limited. After all, many citizens rely on news and reports about the economy, politics and society to keep themselves informed. In the absence of the latter, misinformation is likely to get widely spread provided that there was no freedom of the press. In conclusion, banning some parts of what the media shares has its merits, such as eliminating undesirable and dishonest journalism. Nevertheless, censorship conducted by the government makes it difficult for the population to express their right to freedom as well as their right to access information.