Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

For some individuals, becoming self-employed is a preferable choice as their main source of income, instead of working as a staff in an already established business. This phenomenon occurs due to the work contract that is too strict. However, there are some drawbacks that come with this decision, such as uncertain payment and the absence of extra perks. Working contracts that are given by the employer can be a burden to the employee, especially in this economy where it is hard to get a good amount of pay just from one job. This is because the contract forbids the staff in one company to have another job. For example, in a tech company, even though the salary is not a lot, especially for junior staff, it is not allowed for them to have side jobs in order to minimize data leakage that may harm the client. Hence, many working classes decided to become a freelancers to pursue more opportunities in order to have more than one salary. Nevertheless, no fixed amount of money that they can get per month as well as not having additional incentives besides their main wage could be the drawbacks that may happen as a freelancer. For example, as a web developers freelancer, they can only get paid for one project, which means if there is no client that hires them then there is a chance they will not get any payment for a while. Also, it is quite rare for the client to give them anything besides payment with money. Whereas a company staff can get their health insurance covered by the organisation. To conclude, people choose to be independent workers to distance themselves from work contracts that could limit them from earning additional wages. But in working outside of the organisation, salary may become uncertain, and rarely will they get additional incentives.