Government should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is argued that the government should invest in railways more than in highways. Although many people see that the roads are more essential, I believe that the railroads play a significant role in reducing the pollution in our environment as well as reducing traffic jams. On the one hand, environmental issues are one of the main problems in this era. The amount of carbon dioxide that is released into our atmosphere is alarming due to vehicle traffic. For example, By using trains many people will give up their cars, As a result of that, the amount of CO2 emitted will decrease. Hence, The government must intervene to increase their investment in the railway system in order to contribute to reducing pollution in the environment. On the other hand, Rail transport is safer than other transportation types. It is undeniable that the roads have the highest number of car accidents, causing the loss of many people’s lives. For instance, Due to the lack of railroads in Saudi Arabia, many citizens use their cars, For this reason, the highest death rate in KSA, Is due to car accidents. Therefore, It is rare that a collision occurs between the trains. Moreover, There is no doubt that public transportation has some disadvantages, Such as standing for a long time for the train as well as slowness in moving and arriving. But, It is safe and reduces traffic congestion. In conclusion, There are many positive aspects to investment in railways, On the societal and environmental levels.