The opinion exists that old buildings should be demolished to make way for modern structures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It can be seen that protecting and repairing ancient buildings is extremely expensive. Some believe that they should be demolished and rebuilt in a more modern style, while others believe that they should be maintained and retained. This article will explore the arguments in favour of the latter viewpoint and demonstrate why I disagree with it. Firstly, these magnificent ancient structures serve as tourist attractions, driving the country's tourism industry and generating significant income for the nation. This is due to the fact that historical sites draw numerous international visitors who are captivated by their distinctive charm and aura. For example, Amsterdam, Netherlands, is well-known as a must-visit destination in Europe due to its many ancient churches, houses, bridges, and other sites that reflect the country's traditions, culture, and history. Therefore, a million tourists visit Amsterdam every year, and residents can make money by opening restaurants, cafes, bars, rental services, souvenir shops, etc. Secondly, these ancient buildings are the best places for the new generation to learn about history and background, apart from museums. Since many of the preserved heritage sites are important to the country, and some of them are World Heritage sites, visiting these places is a better way to encourage students to learn more about the country's history than simply reading about it or studying it in the classroom. For example, all students who are rowing on the canals of Amsterdam will feel more excited when they see the impressive scenery and hear the audio that tells the rich stories of the old buildings along the canals. They will also learn some history indirectly. Therefore, these ancient landmarks should be preserved for outdoor education. Overall, there has been controversy over whether these ancient heritage sites should be destroyed or preserved. I think, for the reasons stated above, I absolutely disagree with the idea of tearing it down and rebuilding it.