Some people believe that social networking sites have a considerably detrimental effect on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that social networking sites have a negative impact on society. From my perspective, although some problems are caused by social media, I believe they are beneficial to everyone. As of today, billions of people are using social platforms like Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter, which offer many benefits to their users. First, it helps individuals connect with each other. For example, students who study abroad mostly live far away from their families. Many people feel homesick after not seeing their parents for several months. Through the Internet and social media, they can talk, chat, and even make video calls to connect with relatives far away. Additionally, it is easy to make friends with new people who join these online networking platforms. As a result, new connections are formed and building relationships becomes much easier than before. Second, these sites are a great place to find work, advertise, or even start a new business. Today, many recruiters use these apps to find suitable candidates for the job. Applicants can send their resume directly to recruiters for a chance of getting hired. Additionally, some applications, such as Facebook, allow users to sell and buy items on the marketplace, which provides opportunities for the formation of new businesses. Not only do individuals benefit from social networking sites, but society also benefits. Many people who hold fringe views have a hard time finding others who share their views. As a result, they feel neglected and unable to fit in with the current crowd. Social media sites allow them to find people who share their lifestyles and a place where they feel safe and belonging. On the other hand, there is a shift in the balance of power. For example, many issues related to the environment and culture are left untouched by the government. Therefore, people stand together and express their thoughts and voices online to demand that the authorities take action and deal with these issues. It is impossible for one person to make such a change, but through the power of the masses, many problems can be solved. All in all, I think online social platforms are beneficial and can have a positive impact in many cases. Every new technology or development can be harmful if we don't use it correctly, but if we use it correctly it will help make the world a better place.