Some people say that advertising encourages people to buy things they do not need. Others say that advertisements are important information about new products. Discuss both views and give your opinion. (Vu Huyen)

In the contemporary area,advertising plays a vital role in shaping consumer behavior and influencing purchasing decisions. While Some believe that advertising persuades people to acquire groceries they have a necessity for,others argue it offers valuable knowledge about new inventions. Two aforementioned views will be discussed thoroughly in the following paragraphs before presenting my personal perspective. On the one hand, there are various reasons why people assume advertisements encourage unnecessary consumption.Numerous corporations consider advertising as a tool that boosts both revenue and profit and a marketing strategy, such as the fear of missing out (FOMO), to persuade consumers to purchase impulsive products. For instance, Lemonade Beauty Company exaggerates the effectiveness of its cosmetics by running ads across omni-channels that appeal to almost all females; even if they already have the product or do not need it, they still decide to buy. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the primary function of advertising is to provide information about new products. The details of commodities in advertisements, with their attractive design, are more straightforward for customers to understand than from salesmen, especially when conveyed by celebrities or influencers, who often move down to earth. For example, advertising for the iPhone assists those who lack sufficient free time to visit a store and receive advice by allowing them to acquire in-depth knowledge of the iPhone's features through celebrity endorsements. In conclusion, whereas others do think advertising encourages unnecessary consumption, I agree that the main role of advertising is to inform people about new products.