Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in major cities. What solutions can you suggest to help solve the problem?

In this modern era, traffic congestion is becoming more and more severe in big cities from day to day. Therefore, governments have tried various ways to deal with this problem. This essay will elaborate several effective solutions to reduce congestion. One of the most effective ways to reduce traffic congestion is increasing tax on private vehicles and providing adequate public transportation. By charging heavier tax on private vehicles, people who object to paying the tax will think twice before buying vehicles. If at the same time, governments improve public transportation’s quality and security, people will be reluctant to buy private vehicles and consider shifting to public transportation. These steps will reduce the number of vehicles on streets which can effectively reduce the number of traffic jams. Furthermore, governments could implement public policies restricting the number of private vehicles. Determining the maximum number of vehicles that can be on the streets by calculating the maximum capacity of the road will minimise the chance of congestion. As a country that implements these rules, Singapore successfully solved the congestion problem in their country. Hence this solution has proved effective to tackle traffic congestion. In conclusion, the increasing congestion problem in big cities in the present day has made governments try various methods to resolve this problem. There are several solutions that governments can take to tackle traffic congestion such as charging heavier tax on private vehicles and improving public transportation’s quality. Additionally, governments could impose limitations on the number of private vehicles in their countries.