In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that the decreasing population in suburbs is impacted by many rural people who move to urban areas. In my view, this should be perceived as a negative trend because it may cause overpopulation and social inequality in big cities. It is believed by many that urban cities offer more opportunities for employment in many sectors, therefore many people from suburbs are attracted to move to urban areas in order to get a higher income. This migration may lead to overpopulation which causes some problems such as traffic congestion, an increase of air pollution and water waste, and lack of housing infrastructure. As a result, the government needs to invest an extra cost to remove these concerns. Another reason to be considered, people who come from rural areas often come to the city without particular skills or knowledge. As a consequence, it is difficult for them to enter the job market and get paid decently. While the cost of living in cities is much higher than in suburbs, they may not be able to full-fill their primary needs. This leads to social inequality because they are unlikely to get access to facilities that may enhance their quality of life. For example, in the capital city of Indonesia, Jakarta, there are many people who build their houses illegally in slum areas because they can’t afford the legal housing one, which the price already skyrocketed. In conclusion, the increasing number of people who move to urban cities must be considered as negative development because it triggers over population and social inequality in one particular city.