In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Tourism is becoming popular day by day whole over the world. There are many countries like Maldives, Srilanka, Indonesia, and Italy are largely dependent on the tourism economy. It is an ongoing debate that international tourism may provide benefits to the national economy but it also negatively affects its socio-economic situation. However, I believe that tourism has a more positive impact that takes over the downsides. In the following writings, I will describe the rationale behind my opinion. To begin with the positive sides, due to international tourism, people need to go through immigration administrative procedures, that generates a large amount of revenue for the national GDP. Moreover, it increases the employment opportunities in the immigration sector to handle the large number of foreigners that are intending to visit the respective country. Secondly, when foreigners come to spend some leisure time, they spend liquid money that helps to boost local economy. Additionally, this creates business opportunities for local people. In turn, it reduces the unemployment of the local people. Thirdly, international tourism prompts the government to protect the local heritage and tourist places, which improves a country's profile and raises the recognition worldwide. For example, Indonesia is not a country that the world recognizes as a good country, but people know it due to Bali which is a famous place for tourism. More positive side to add that international tourism helps improve culture by sharing local culture with the international community. Nevertheless, there are some negative sides like, it may affect national security which reduces the reputation of law enforcement agencies. There are some reports like allowing more people to visit a place affects the local heritage and environment. To sum up, even though there are negative sides with respect to the benefit that a country achieves due to international tourism is ignorable. If the government can take proper steps to control the downsides, international tourism will tremendously benefit a country.