Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argued that vocational training should be encouraged for enrollment to produce sufficient future competent labourers in the context of an increasing number of people taking part in the academic field. I completely agree with this opinion, as I believe qualified researchers and workers are equally important and their numbers should be balanced. Firstly, lacking of competent workers academic study performed by students and researchers in universities yields theoretical results, which are foundations for practical field-work performed by workers. This is a process called "from theory to practice" in which various researchers and workers are involved and how most of the products we are using nowadays went from an idea into reality. Therefore, a lack of qualified workers would hinder this process and bringing scientific ideas to practical use would be impossible. For example, the invention of electricity in the 19th was based purely on theoretical knowledge of physics and electric currents. Subsequently, an occupation called "electricians" was born to meet the demands of applying this invention to domestic use in households, such as installing and fixing broken electrical appliances. As physicists only work with theory and cannot handle electric cables or plugs, too many of them and few electricians would make the society impossible to function. Secondly, schools should take responsibility for integrating vocational training alongside academic study ever since elementary education. This would provide students with necessary hands-on skills in the future and give them an occupation orientation. For example, a student should learn both theoretical physics and how to fix electrical appliances, which is an effective way for them to apply academic knowledge to solving practical problems. In summary, I believe vocational training is needed for the future sufficiency of competent workers. The balance of both positions would effectively maintain the society's function.