Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has been a growing issue regarding the diminishing participation from joint families in one’s household. As far as I am concerned, this condition is based on the fact that not only people are becoming more individualistic but they also live in different houses or even different cities. The primary notion is that people nowadays have not been sociable so much leading to less involvement from other relatives in a core family. This impacts less interaction with their big families such as grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles, making them not crucial for that household. For instance, folks who enjoy spending time alone with their loved ones and do not like involving other individuals even those relatives in their environment will keep their surroundings limited, thus they will end up living alone just with their nuclear family. Distinct houses and living locations could also be another factor for the small appearance of joint relatives. Differences in those aspects cause difficulty for those folks to interact with each other personally, resulting in the lack of their presence in family life. To illustrate this, a family that lives in a different city generally has difficulty communicating with their extended relatives, except using internet technology which does not affect the strong bonding between them, resulting in less engagement in this household which in the end makes them not crucial anymore to that family. To recapitulate, the insignificance of the extended relatives is caused by the two prominent variables namely within the family by which they favor being alone and also the distance that needs to be taken into account.