More and more people no longer read newspapers. They get news about the world through the Internet. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

Nowadays, because of the breakthrough in technology people around the world tend to read news from the internet rather than newspapers. I think this is a positive development for human beings. In this essay, I will outline several benefits of getting news from the Internet rather than newspapers. There are many advantages for people who prefer to read news from the Internet than newspapers. First, people could get a piece of up-to-date news because only having an internet connection people can access news from the Internet at that time so they should not wait as long as newspaper. Second, using the Internet as a medium for getting news helps the government to reduce paper use thus this activity can prevent deforestation. Third, people have the opportunity to choose the news that they want to read because on the Internet there is tremendous news from different websites so people have many preferences for deciding the news that they are interested in. Moreover, reading the news from the Internet is cheaper than buying the newspaper. On the other hand, newspapers also have several benefits. One of the main benefits provided by newspapers is not to irritate the eyes while e- news could cause detrimental effects on the eyes. However, researchers, today, have conducted research and found advanced material to make screens more convenient for the eyes. Moreover, people can adjust lighting from the screen preventing bad effects from screen radiation. Therefore, reading the news on the Internet still has a better impact on readers because people can read the news whenever they want. Also, the use of newspapers in this digital age is obsolete. To sum up, although newspapers have become an integral part of human life in the past, the use of the Internet now is more beneficial in many aspects not only for getting news but also for avoiding devastating impacts on the environment.