Governments give a lot of support to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been used elsewhere.   Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Artists are gained with lots of government assistance. While some argue that it is a loss of money because they could be sent to different spheres, I believe that representatives of the art world should be supported financially in terms of national culture development as a whole. On the one hand, spending the government budget to other departments is more valuable for the society. Ensuring the security of the state is considered to be a vital authority mission for the citizens through the establishment and investment of special sections like army force, military weapons and etc. For instance, numerous developed countries due to imperialistic mindset tend to spend a huge amount of taxpayers’ money on military weapons to be able to protect their territory. However, I believe that the historical value created by living artists is more important for national integrity through cultural association. On the other hand, it is thought that the state should help the artist’s life, thanks to the financial support providing him the ability to create for national heritage. Most of the time creators start their professional path with no recognition and glory, therefore they have to figure out financial issues and at the same time continue to produce art that makes life so complicated, and art not as brilliant as it could be due to the lack of time and art supplies. For instance, Francis Bacon became a major art figure in the world during the 90s as a result of grants and scholarships given from the UK and Ireland, which allowed him to concentrate on his artworks and create masterpieces which became the world’s legacy. I believe that this school of thought is preferable because art investment is a state ’s duty to the future generation. In conclusion, although spending money on other sections like the army and military could make some sense for a state union, there is a more sensible way to bring all of the people together all around the country through the national culture creation, it could be a more relevant and preferable expense of state budget.