Many scientists believe that now we can study the behaviour of a three-year-old child to see whether they will grow up to become criminals. To what extent do you think human nature leads to crime? How can we prevent children from growing up to become criminals?

A growing consensus of scientists suggests that it is feasible to deduce whether a kid is a potential criminal by their behaviour. However, although it is acknowledged that the characteristics expressed by genes might influence individuals’ conduct, I personally believe that the impact of the environment will play a much more pivotal role. Engaging in crime can be dominated by personal traits, and it is likely to be observed while young. Personal traits are inherited through genes which vary between individuals. Children with different characteristics tend to perform different actions in their daily lives because diverse natures lead to various perceptions and thoughts among individuals. For instance, the frequency of initiating a conflict from an irritable child can be far larger than that of others. Therefore, the performance of offspring can be observed when they are young to determine their human nature, thus deduce the probability of becoming a potential criminal. However, traits are not only determined by genes but also by the environment, which has been proven in the biological field. The impacts of families, schooling, and even society contribute to the performance of children. More specifically, only exposed to a friendly surrounding can children get positive influences, because children with unmatured mindsets usually have to mimic others' behaviours from the community hence developing a thorough behaviour system themselves. Moreover, observing the performance of others is also a way for kids to learn, so it is obvious that the impacts of the surroundings are magnificent. As a consequence, several actions must be taken by parents in order to prevent kids from disobeying the laws. To begin with, performing as a qualified citizen themselves is vital, establishing a model for offspring and conveying valuable insights for them. In addition, family education is needed for constructing correct social values for kids and teaching them several methods that can be used when reacting with diverse people under different circumstances. Finally, communication with school teachers is important for a deeper understanding of their kids, and limiting the social circle would also benefit the quality of the environment that students are exposed to. In conclusion, it is admitted that the human nature that kids are born with will influence their performance to some extent. However, it is worth noting that environments also play an unignorable role. In this case, several valuable actions should be taken by parents to holistically navigate their children to the correct road.