To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

The fast population explosion nowadays imposes a requirement for finding alternative sources of food, such as edible insects. While some people suppose that this might be an innovative solution, others raise against this assertion due to its potential risks for humans’ health and negative impacts on our nature, From my perspective, consuming insects could bring both benefits and drawbacks. On one hand, the idea of turning these creatures into food can address problems of food affordability and the overexploitation of our limited existing food resources. The world has witnessed a striking rise in food prices, such as rice, cereal, and meat. Consequently, many individuals all over the world, especially in developing countries, suffer from food shortages, cannot get access to sustainable provisions, and are not able to meet their daily nutrition intake. Furthermore, humans have also engaged in unsustainable practices, for example, overfishing, which threatens food availability in the future. Therefore, the consumption of insects can be a good idea to solve both of these issues. On the other hand, eating insects is possibly not a wise solution due to its pivotal role in ecological balance. Take butterflies or bees as an example, they act as crucial agents in agriculture and the production of food by pollinating flora. Moreover, its huge quantity also becomes a rich source of food for other animals so rejecting them will disrupt this harmony and impose threats to other animals. Besides, some certain types of them may contain toxic substances, thus, if we don’t comprehend exactly the hazard of eating them, it can badly affect human health, even death. For instance, we have seen many special cases of people eating insects such as grasshoppers, crickets, bees, and pupae,… leads to food poisoning, massive allergy or death. In conclusion, utilizing insects as new sources of food can be both beneficial and dangerous. It is undoubtedly essential to strike the balance between exploiting insects for food and maintaining their existence in nature to ensure biodiversity.