Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. Do you agree or disagree?

In our developing world, virtually all the countries in the world organize different competitions in close collaboration with each other in order to identify the best athletes or players. In other words, the main root of coordinating international sports events is to reinforce the ties of friendship and peace among nations. On the one hand, popular events such as the Football World Cup, Olympic games, and Champions League have massive global followings and have become cultural touchstones, bringing together people from all walks of life and different countries. As a result, sports tournaments bring numerous benefits to the host nation's economy and society. Besides, during sports events, participants make friends and build stable relationships with them. I strongly believe that winning the competition doesn't matter, the crucial thing is participating. On the other hand, some sports matches can make international relations worse. To set an example, competitors can not control their emotions in some circumstances. For instance, if the ref doesn't give a penalty kick, footballers say dirty words to the ref. Furthermore, some participants tend to injure their rivals on purpose. Sometimes, after the matches, the two rivals blame each other and their patriotic emotions explode in an aggressive way. Even a much worse thing is that the troubles caused by losing games affect the players directly. In conclusion, I strongly believe that international sports occasions can be one of the foodways to ease tensions as well as to release patriotism safely. Hence, I think that games can not be the fundamental way for the sound patriotism or peaceful international relations.