In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the improvement of human life has led to an impressive lifespan in a lot of countries. Some people worry that this situation causes trouble for the governments, while others believe it is advantageous to have more elders. In my opinion, the benefits of people having longer lifespans significantly outweigh the drawbacks due to two main reasons. First, since people are living longer than before, the working period of people also increases, which is a great support for economic development. Japan, for instance, is a country with a surprisingly high mean lifespan. The age of retirement here is also much higher than in other countries. Some elderly people are even willing to work after retirement because they think a lifestyle without working is boring. As a consequence, the overall performance of Japanese during their lives is much better which leads to rapid economic development. Therefore, Japanese society benefits greatly from civilians' long lifespans. Second, elderly people are a valuable source of knowledge that helps increase the quality of high-level jobs. As an example, due to the short lifespan in the past, only a few people were well-educated to perform complex tasks like engineering. In contrast, the extended lifespan in the modern era allowed more and more talented individuals to fully explore their abilities and satisfy requirements for higher careers such as lawyer, doctor or astronaut. This qualified manpower is the driving force behind the technological insights in advanced nations such as the USA or Japan. In conclusion, the ageing population is a blessing for the society. Thanks to the notable advantages this phenomenon brings to the governments and their citizens, we have the opportunities to develop our community.