In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, in their commercials, companies tend to declare that the products which belong to them are new in some way. It may be because people always think that new is always better. What I believe is this approach affects negatively. First of all, the human soul is insatiable. Due to greedy, they will always want something newer. Since firms know about this, they design their commercials in order to make it seem like a newer one. Thus, they attract more customers and make more profit. We can say it is a branch of capitalism. For instance, the Apple Company introduces a new phone and they claim this phone has better qualities but in fact, all of them are nearly the same exceptfor a few colour changes. On the other hand, this development is able to turn into a competition in society. Moreover, while the ones who are wealthy are capable of affording better products, others will feel like they are useless because they do not have enough money for them. Thereby, it may cause a hierarchy in which every person tries to climb the upper class. For example, in undeveloped countries, such as India, we can see humans love to show others their expensive cars or brilliant properties. On the contrary, I have never seen this situation in a country like Germany. In there, they only care about fuel consumption or cars’ harm to the environment and choose wisely. All in all, it seems to me that corporations try to persuade human beings that their products are new in order to attract their attention and I think it affects society negatively.