Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading storybooks are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is often argued that children are wasting their time by reading more story books, however, some people argue that they could spend their time doing some other useful activities. This essay totally disagrees with this statement because reading story books plays a significant role in brain development as well as boosts their imagination skills. This essay will discuss my opinion in detail with relevant examples. To begin with, it is evident that reading stories enhances brain development. That is to say that, when they read captivating stories, they tend to imagine the characters, plots and world settings as described by the narrator which stimulates their intellectual curiosity that leads to a positive brain function. In addition, such development is considered to be significant for the young ones to attain academic excellence. For instance, a recent study found that an average of 40% of offspring are not showing interest in reading which has led to poor academic scores at schools. Additionally, such stories develop their imagination skills that can be used to solve complex problems in the future. In other words, reading story books allows them to gain unique perspectives about issues and they get an opportunity to imagine the given situation from multiple orientations. Furthermore, this aids them to broaden the horizons of their knowledge which they could use in their adult lives. For example, many schools play audio-visuals and encourage children to read story books during their leisure hours in order to boost their imagination. In conclusion, some people may argue that reading story books is a waste of time, however in my opinion, it has ample benefits as it improves intellectual development of kids as well as enhances their skills such as imagination and creativity which would be useful to solve complex issues in the future