The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present time, social media has become one of the most essential parts for everyone. It has been widely claimed that people use social media to communicate with the others instead of physical conversation. This essay discusses why I consider the benefits of the situation to outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, the first upside is that social media provides a faster method to convey with people who live overseas. For example, in the past, the conversation was communicated by mail, which might cause a delayed response. Thus, social media would help people communicate instantly which could be useful in urgent situations. Moreover, in terms of financial cost, there will be less expense on online communication. For instance, people wouldn’t spend money on transportation fees to travel. Therefore, having online conversations is one of the approaches to reducing the cost of living. Additionally, in the case of a medical condition, patients could use social media to contact their family for the purpose of avoiding the spread of the infection, in case that they are admitted with pandemic diseases in a hospital. However, it can be seen that spending time contacting with other people online could cause downsides. People possibly lose physical communication skills. For example, members of a family tend to pay less attention to the members living closely. As a result, if this behaviour continues, it will be a noticeable distance, which results in relationship problems among them. Besides, it would be a waste of time, in case of spending time for several hours per day. Consequently, they are not to be able to have enough time, leading to a negative impact on productivity of works. In conclusion, although it’s deniable that there are downsides of using social media rather than physical contact, I strongly believe that the advantages of the phenomena outweigh the disadvantages. People should use it suitably so that they are able to maintain communication skills and balance time for their work.