Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Different communities are guided by certain customs and traditions. It is often believed that the community may lose its functionality if people show less interest in leading their lives in line with social principles. In my opinion, the idea that individuals could do anything based on their personal preferences could hamper social functioning is valid To commence with, even though there are many problems associated with the functioning of a society, without orders and laws, people especially those from the younger generation could not distinguish what is right or wrong without knowledge of such guidelines. Hence, these activities breed the offender for some serious crimes in the future. Another compelling reason is that without the existence of any regulations and law enforcement, anyone can commit a crime without restrictions, irrespective of the type of the offence or the assault that acts as a drawback for the country's development. For instance, official authorities are easily get involved in fraud and money laundering from the national budgets and not encounter any punishments affecting the political, social and economic disturbance in the country. On the other hand, it should be acknowledged that law must guarantee social stability by imposing rules as incentives for reduced criminal activities. So, perpetrators could take harsh punishments into consideration. To epitome, in Vietnam, individuals would be compromised from the ownership of illegally smuggled weapons due to the fear of life imprisonment imposing on people with weapon accessibility, suggesting a causal relationship with the reduced homicide rate, ensuring social soundness. In conclusion, an individual has the freedom to do anything based on personal preferences, which could be instrumental in the downturn of society. Additionally, official authorities should undertake practical initiatives to ascertain the righteousness in citizens for the long-term sustainability of society.