People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

It is generally acknowledged that in these days and age people tend to sleep less compared to recent ages. In this essay, I will examine the factors that contribute towards the lack of sleep and the effects it causes. To begin with, social media plays a significant role in this problem. In other words, the increased intake of social media becomes the cause of undersleeping. For example, a person who is on their phone all the time, such as the online platform TikTok would ignore his well-being and would rather doom scrolling thanks to the dopamine rush he got and as a result, he is now addicted, thus, sleep fewer. In addition, an individual who is addicted to playing games would abandon his need to reach certain levels or ranks in games. This, of course, could lead to a bigger problem, for instance mental health issues. Therefore, I believe due to these factors, the impact of the lack of sleep is that individuals' effectiveness is declining owing to not having enough sleep. When the body fulfilling its recommended sleeping hours, the person would wake up feeling energetic in comparison with those who slept under eight or nine hours. For instance, an individual would start his day with a lack of energy. Moreover, due to tiredness, a person's mood could change easily, hence, he would feel sensitive. In conclusion, in the past people slept more than nowadays. I reckon that social media has a big role in this issue, moreover, it has a negative impact on the person's productivity.