In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

During last few generations and the developments we had in different fields, the number of people who are living in old ages above their 70 is increasing but the number of birth rate is falling. therefore, some people believes that this statement can cause difficulties for the government, which I totally agree with, however in this essay I will point to both benefits and drawbacks. To begin with, researches show us the number of happy people who are living with their parents or grandparents are much more than who had lost their beloved ones which can cause an increase in depression between young ages. Even though it is important to take care of societies mental health the negative effect of having too many elderly in population can have unexpected effects for a country too. For instance, most of the people with physical health can regularly work till their 70ties and for the rest of their life they will need retirement salary coming from the governments budget. Even if we assume they have huge amount of money to spend this way too. On the other hand, believe it or not as we grow our body start to lose its health and Knowing that there are young people who are struggling with various kind of diseases too nothing will change the fact that most of the illness appears in old ages. Despite that, we may need more factories to produce medicine and cutting of more plant or tree for medical uses which can directly lead us to air pollution and losing the environment. In conclusion, in my opinion, it may be necessary to have old people in population for taking care of societies mental health but in average disadvantages outweigh the advantages.