Some people believe that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money should be invested better in other areas. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people reckon that spending on arts is a waste of municipal budgets and governments should spend their municipal budgets on other investments. While there is a need for governments to develop arts, I completely agree that they should invest their financial budgets in other departments. On the one hand, governments are responsible for boosting the development of arts and probably benefit a lot from them. The primary reason is that governments are supposed to protect the paintings and other art crafts in museums. This is because these artificial items are usually symbols of ancient cultures in certain areas and contribute to cultural diversity to some degree. Secondly, investments in paintings and other forms of art are more likely to promote economic development. For example, beautiful drawings in art galleries and artificial designs on municipal architecture probably attract tourists to their regions and thus improve their economy. Therefore, expenses on arts can benefit governments from both cultural and economic aspects. Regardless of the arguments mentioned above, I consider that authorities should save their money and spend it on more profitable departments. Firstly, alternative measures are more accessible to promote arts and are more economical, such as compulsory arts courses in primary school, painting club campaigns on campus and so on. In other words, local authorities can easily foster a sense of art in students and provide professional artificial lessons for children. Secondly, financial budgets are essential for other more imperative departments, such as environmental protection, financial investments and so on. In this way, governments can earn more profits by investing in those programs within short terms and thus have more opportunities to promote social development. In conclusion, while spending budgets on arts has a range of advantages, such as cultural protection and economic profits, I would argue that governments should invest expenses in other important fields.