In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. To what extent do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting.

The importance of compulsory voting which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked controversy over its potential impact in recent years. In my opinion, mandatory voting appears to be more rational. This essay will further elaborate my views for favouring the positive impact of this trend and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. Analyzing the statement and explaining further, the first and foremost reason behind this is that it is a way that people can express their consent. An elected candidate comes under pressure and works for the welfare of society. Deadlines are given, and performance is judged by the public. Another striking benefit in this regard is that the process of voting is based on moral and ethical values, which makes society fearless. Moreover, voting is anonymous and the identities of the voters are concealed. Probing ahead, one of the main reasons stems from the fact that voting is the heart of democracy. As long as people are given the chance to vote and choose their representatives, democracy is working. That is why, it is essential to ensure that every eligible voter is registered and exercises his right of suffrage, because if not, it defeats the purpose of democracy. Moving further, it is pertinent to mention that the government should legislate laws that make voting much easier for all citizens, particularly those underrepresented groups whose voices are often unheard in the halls of government offices. To recapitulate, according to the arguments aforementioned above, one can conclude that the benefits of compulsory voting are indeed too great to ignore. Awareness among the public should be created so that every citizen of the country understands the importance of casting his vote.