Many people believe that the media plays a crucial role in shaping public opinion. Others argue that individuals have the power to form their own opinions independent of media influence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Ever since the dawn of civilisation, information has been regarded as the one uniting factor that linked people, kept them united and woven what has now become their culture over the centuries, the church being one of the first influential institutes during the dark period, and in this modern era where so many events are constantly ocurring, the large grasp of power and influence the media posseses is what has been shaping the very opinions of the masses. A divine power that has been corrupted by human nature and coveted by humanity's never ending, unquenchable thirst for power, i will be advancing my arguments in the fourthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, media is viewed as the most consistent and reliable source of information, which has led people to blindly follow it. However, devotion does not lead to righteousness, and one has a duty to think for one's self and supplement his lack of information on subjects where he lacks the requisite knowledge., moreover, it's only natural for these institutions to be targeted by a higher power, therefore, the informaton that media spreads remainsuncertain. Moreover, having the monopoly of information, as well as being able to control it by selectively pushing forward select articles, censor inconvenient journals and promote their desired ideals and doctrins doctrine, a government is capable of fully subjugating an entire civilisation without the use of force or causing riots and using propaganda as a war and political tactic that can wreak havoc or spread hatred, the Holocaust being a prime example of what information can do when placed in bad hands. In conclusion, media is a good way to acquire information and gain knowledge on the events happening in the world, but it should not be one's only way of gaining information, especially when it comes to political subjects and controversial topics, though most people unfortunately place most of their trust in those said institutions.