Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that elderly people should be perceived as problems for the government, while others have different points of view. In this essay, I will explain that the benefits of having more old people overshadow the potential drawbacks. Looking at the reason why senior citizens provide a more positive impact on societies. Even though most residents opine that old people need more attention, especially on their physical condition, countries around the world require their experience to face current issues. For instance, to deal with the COVID-19 virus, many local authorities in Indonesia consult with people who live up to 50 years old and have traditional medicine prescriptions from their ancestors. As a result, the number of Covid-19 patients in Indonesia is gradually falling day by day. Hence, it is undeniable that the experiences of old people are necessary for human civilization. Turning to another advantage of having older people is their skills. Undeniably, modernization has changed human life, including work opportunities. Without a doubt, many new job vacancies will consider the flexibility skills that only appeared in young generations, however, for critical jobs associated with human life such as medical centres, policymakers, and the top industrial sectors. The maturity and patience among the elderly in facing hard conditions and staying long at work are irreplaceable. Thus, it cannot be denied that older members' skills are still essential, particularly in crucial sectors. To sum up, although most people have argued many problems are caused by the ageing population, their skills and experiences towards their life in some eras are useful for society.