In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Having a residence instead of renting one is considered essential for some individuals in certain countries. In my opinion, this is based on many social, cultural and economic reasons which can impact the society members of a country and as far as I am concerned this is a positive trend due to the reasons which will be discussed below. There are several arguments for many wanting to buy a and live in their own home. One of the reasons is that because of the inflation and housing crisis, the rent has increased significantly. This sometimes becomes unaffordable for common people to continue to pay the rent. In addition, it seems to be unfair to them to pay a huge amount of rent to cover someone else’s mortgage. In contrast, society members can buy their residence and use the lease money to pay off their own mortgage, resulting in owning an asset that can be passed on to their children. I believe that this is a positive trend. Firstly, the amount of money paid fortnightly is more likely affordable than the rental paid by tenants these days. The only catch here is to buy a house that is not overly expensive. Secondly, their income is utilised in owning their own asset rather than giving it to someone else, consequently, their economic circumstances can be improved. Finally, it is a sense of achievement for some people to own a house and pass this asset to their children leading to their sense of satisfaction in their retired life. Therefore, the country may have happy and prosperous citizens. To sum up, according to what has been discussed in the above paragraphs,I am of the opinion that purchasing a home has its positive aspects to be considered, which is why in many nations, it is vital for many individuals to purchase their own place rather than renting it.