Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

The behavior of the youth is impacted by people of the same age group. Although some young people improve themselves because of peer pressure, they are often influenced to do bad habits that will affect their personal lives later on. In my opinion, peer pressure should not be practiced as it has obvious risks and really damages a person, both internally and externally. One of the benefits of peer pressure is that it drives youngsters out of their comfort zone to take on risks that could help them as a person or in their profession. Social influence sometimes acts as a catalyst to push the younger generation to take an action that influences their life. For example, my friend back in 2017, kept pestering me to take on leading roles during events, and that has helped me enormously in improving my communication skills which I lacked before taking this action. The impact of these repeated insistences is what makes you grow as a person. The main disadvantage of this is that most of the people in the younger age batch usually adopt habitats that affect them negatively. Group pressure causes individuals to get swayed by doing something they know they shouldn't but still give in. For instance, a classmate of mine was influenced to smoke a cigarette by her social circle, they kept insisting on her to do it even though she declined several times but in the end she gave in. To this day she is now a regular smoker, which is declining her health. In conclusion, peer pressure is common amongst the younger generation. While this will make an individual improve themselves in particular aspects that leads to the main advantage of peer pressure which is personal development. As a contradiction of sorts, it ultimately causes a negative impact. And so, therefore, should not be practised.