Many museums and historic sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than by local residents. What are the causes of this? What can be done for museums and historic sites to attract more local visitors?

Over the last two or three decades, historical places have been unpopularised more tremendously among the population than ever before. As a result, many museums and historic places are explored by tourists as compared to the local inhabitants. There are some reasons for this tendency and there are some possible solutions to attract more local residents to visit these locations. This essay discusses it briefly for the following reasons. There are some reasons for the local people do not like to visit the historical places. One of the main cause is local population are too busy in their everyday work such as school, college and work. They do not have more time to explore these kinds of cultural heritage locations as compared to the foreigners, the international visitors have more time on holidays time while they have to visit museums. Another reason is that the local community have more focus on entertainment based on activities like going to cinema, fun park and adventure places instead of the historical locations. For example, many Indians like to watch movies in cinema at every weekend but they do not like to visit there cultural heritage places. There are some possible solutions to attract the locals visit museums. One of the remedy is the local authority should be conducted innumerable presentations, exhibitions and classroom in these places while locals might be explored in these venues. For instance, in Sri Lanka government encourages to the local residents to visit these area by conducting exhibitions in every month, as a result, their local inhabitants are visited frequently without getting any boredom. Another remedy is the authority should be provided free entry pass to the local inhabitants in order to more and more people like to visit there at week end holidays instead of going cinema. These are the ways of attracting to visit the local in the historical places. To conclude, the local populace are too busy and they like to take more entertainment activities are the main causes for the local inhabitants do not visit the historical places rather than foreigners. Free entrance ticket and conduct presentation, exhibition and seminar are the possible solutions to attract local will visit in these locations.