In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Over the last half-century, the life expectancy of people in the world has been rising due to improved health care. This means that in the world we have a huge population of older people. This situation has some merits and some pitfalls for the universe. In this essay, I will explain both benefits and drawbacks of this situation and also I will share my viewpoint regarding this topic. On the one hand, it is a blessing for the older people as they have a huge time after their retirement and they spend their time and money according to themselves as they can travel to new destinations. For instance, aged people in Canada always spend their time in Victoria or some other island and they enjoy all the rest of life by doing their favourite activities. Further more, having grandparents can be a big favour for families as they are able to help busy parents with some tasks like picking up and dropping off children at school, buying groceries and many more. Despite this, there are many pitfalls of the increasing life expectancy as many of the aged people have chronic illnesses like sugar, diabetes, obesity etc. which make them too sick and weak and they are unable to do their work and can be difficult for them as well as for their families. Instead of this, most of the elderly people are on their retirement and their pension benefits are coming from the taxes of the working class and can be burdened for them. Overall then, I feel that the benefits of living older are clear, but these must be balanced against the implications for health and money. If living longer simply means chronic health complaints and grinding poverty for a longer time, it is questionable as to whether it is an advantage at all.