Some people believe that using taxpayer funds to look for life on other planets is important. Others, however, think that it is a waste of public money because there are much more important issues requiring funding on our own planet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since the day human beings managed to set foot on the moon, the searches for extraterrestrial life and the coming disputes have been carried out continuously. While advocates believe that the government’s fiscal budget should be deployed on such expeditions, the opposing voice is frequently heard that those conducts should give way to emergencies related to people on Earth. In my opinion, looking for intelligent life beyond Earth is definitely meaningful, but focusing on human beings seems to have more practical significance. There are undisputed potential benefits of exploring life forms in outer space. The first is to quench our desire to reach out to ensure that we are not alone in this universe. Such a desire used to drive our ancestors to spread over the world, building connections with neighbour and remote nations, to eventually shape the world as it looks today. Now we are stimulated by the same kind of urge to send rockets and satellites to look for alien civilizations, and once we succeed, a new world with enormous possibilities will be born. Another merit we could gain from the outcomes of searching for extraterrestrial life is to learn invaluable lessons from other living beings who may have survived for much longer periods of time than us. From their experience could we be able to find solutions to puzzles which have plagued our society, such as income gap, war or inequality in gender or education. On the other hand, it is undeniable that the problems we are facing on Earth outweigh those aforementioned advantages, which are even based on “if we could succeed in finding intelligent life outside”. What has been observed worldwide is countless women and children lacking proper nurturing and education, families in conflicting zones being forced to leave home and run for their lives, and citizens in deprived areas suffering from poor housing, inadequate food, as well as the shortage of hygienic water and medical care. Therefore, it would be unbearably inhumane if our governments put aside the basic needs of our own kind and used the funding to support the projects whose rewards are so far too difficult to realize. In conclusion, exploring civilizations in the universe could bring potential benefits to mankind, but now it is better for our governments to be more human- and Earth-centred.