Some argue that schools should prioritize life skills such as working in teams and solving problems instead of traditional academics. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether schools teach life skills optimally, such as teamwork and problem-solving skills, rather than relying solely on academic performance. I firmly maintain that it is significantly crucial. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for the importance of these skills. First and foremost, in the contemporary era, from schools to society, individuals mostly need to cooperate with others, such as schools’ sports competitions, communities’ tournaments and companies’ teams. If students can be taught how to collaborate with others, it is quite helpful for them to become a member of that team and boost the sense of belonging. Apart from that, a student can cultivate the teamwork spirit and interact with others from a young age, which also develops their responsibility and empathy. These skills will not only help build good relationships with colleagues, but also help them to strengthen bonds with friends and folks. Furthermore, problem-solving skills play an essential role in improving students’ personal and professional growth. I suppose pupils who were taught how to solve problems can be more independent. For instance, lots of juveniles learn to play puzzles to train their critical thinking skills and find the methods to solve problems efficiently, which also helps them live alone in the future or further study overseas. Moreover, reducing dependence on others can also motivate people to become a team leader in the future. Because these people tend to be brave enough to encounter the challenges and make decision decidedly. These students who only learn traditional academics will develop in a limited way. They do not even know how to apply their knowledge to help the team solve problems in future work, which is likely to cause bad interpersonal relationships, resulting in isolation and mental problems. In summary, it is undeniable that conventional academics are important for each student, whereas, we can not ignore that prioritising life skills will bring plenty of benefits for students, even prevent life problems in the future.