Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

The widespread problem of closure of local businesses that small companies cannot compete with large, international businesses. This essay will discuss the main effects local communities caused by closure of local shops and some possible solutions to avoid them. Reasons of alarming situation vary. In some cases, the problem of closure small businesses is local communities lose their uniqueness as international companies are the same the world over. For instance, big companies offer the wide selection of products and may neglect the local needs for specific goods or services. In other words, small businesses support and involved in local communities ’ activities thereby more aware of their specific demands. Also there is another problem that large businesses do not shape the local community, whereas local business do. For example, international organizations usually do not connect with locals and con not build a sense of community. In the result the locals feel themselves avoided or prevented. Some possible solutions to these problems are local people should remain loyal to local businesses and big companies should work alongside local businesses. By staying as loyal consumers to small shops, local people help them to survive or flourish and impact on economy growth in rural regions. Moreover, the effective solution in avoiding the closure of small shops is realization of integrated business between international organizations and local shops. This way, local communities will be highly supported, and consumers will be offered as broad range of products with local specific good or services. To conclude, closure of small business due to lack of opportunities to compete with international organizations causes problems for local communities. However, local shops can survive by having the support of local consumers and doing the integrated projects with big companies, if the above steps are taken, the situation will surely improve in the coming years