Today many people buy imported food, rather than consuming local products. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Many individuals tend to consume more goods from foreign countries rather than the local ones. While there are may be some benefits of obtain the overseas product by the consumers, I believe that the drawbacks of this tendency are more significant. Purchasing foreign commodities is extremely beneficial from the buyers’ point of view. They may get to experience great extent of variety of products which can give them the opportunity to choose their desired selection. There is a likelihood that imported food may not even exist in a particular country, consequently it would capture the enormous segment of market. However, from the economic stance, it would demotivate the local farmers and producers to actively engaging in food production and delivery to the market, additionally, there is a huge possibility that it would endanger the economic and food security of the state. In my opinion, the negative sides of this trend outweigh the positive ones. One of the major disadvantages is that when the population redirect its preferences towards international products, it creates massive inflation among aforementioned items, as a result, not only these products and also local’s one price will change up. Another negative side is the decoupling domestic farmers and producers from the desire of to be involved in trade relations. Therefore, their reluctance and hesitation would be encroached by formed unprecedented situation. In conclusion, even though consuming the international commodities can be plausible from the consumer standpoint, this advantage is clearly overshadowed by two major disadvantages: the surge of prices in the whole market due to buyers’ decision not to select the domestic foods and the discouragement of farmers from producing local products.