Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching progammes and films about it? Give reasons for your answers and include any revelant examples from your own experience

Since the invention of television, lives have been transformed in many aspects and travelling is not an exception. It is believed that in order to know more about another nation, humans just need to watch documentaries and movies shown on it because it provides greater value than travelling in person. From my perspective, it is not exact because there are many things that tourists gain when going directly. On the one hand, it is undeniable that works of art displayed do bring significant value to watchers. First and foremost, some employees with low-paid jobs often find it hard to visit a destination and can learn more about it including cultures, locals and cuisines through spending time on the sofa and looking at the screen for a certain amount of time. Secondly, with some nations which are on the other side of the globe, the audience is still given the opportunity to get an insight into the common lifestyle and how the local inhabitants make a living. On the other hand, it is apparent that in some aspects which only holidaymakers experience. Firstly, when they spend time and money discovering a new land which is beyond their homeland, they are exposed to new cultures, interacting with strangers, and exploring their potential. Those help them grow and broaden their horizons. For example, a shy teenager might be more mature and know how to take care of herself after a school trip to a foreign country. In addition, thanks to communicating with other foreign peers, she gained more knowledge about the country. Secondly, the feelings when tasting unfamiliar dishes and drinks are definitely different from seeing them on the TV screen.To make it clear, viewers cannot imagine how fantastic and tasty the squid is if they just see it on the screen. In conclusion, it is undeniable that programmers and movies aired allow them to know more about one country but they cannot satisfy their demands totally because of real experiences offered by only actual visits.