Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teaching children the literature of their own country should be given more importance than that of other countries. While I accept that children will gain a range of benefits when studying literature works of their own culture, I also believe that learning foreign literature is equally important. On the one hand, learning literature from local resources gives children the opportunity to learn more about their own traditional and historical heritage. Take Su tich banh chung banh day as an example. This fairy tale helps kids to know more about the main purpose of Tet holiday and how people celebrated Tet in the past. In addition, literature works such as folktales, poems or stories help develop children ’s patriotism. By studying Thanh Giong, for example, children have the chance to learn about how their ancestors went through various challenges and even sacrificed themselves for the independence of Vietnam. This helps remind them that they have to make every possible effort in everything they do in order to contribute to the development of their country. On the other hand, I believe that teaching children literature of other nations is equally important. Foreign literature books provide kids with in-depth knowledge about cultural and traditional values of different parts of the world. This can help them to avoid culture shock or other culture-related problems when they travel abroad or work for an international company in the future. Another reason is that by learning literature from both local and foreign resources, children would be able to think from different perspectives when encountering a problem. This helps develop better decision-making and problem-solving skills. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I personally believe that it is necessary for children to learn both local and foreign literature.