“Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programmes regardless of their level of academic ability”. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Recently, there have been conflicting views on whether the admissions committee of a university allows everyone to apply for their programs without considering their academic competencies. This essay disagrees with this statement since their qualifications can show their perseverance in their studies, and better yet, it may make them competitive candidates. To begin with, educational skills can mean perseverance in excelling at a subject. This is due to the fact that they need to devote significant hours to learning to get a good score in school or a national examination. To illustrate this, to pass the national medical board test in Indonesia, a head of medicine study program discovered that a test taker will need more than 2,000 question trials and 2 months of intensive study. With this kind of behaviour, it is expected that those who also do it can complete a college course and graduate with honours. In addition, regulating academic qualifications will provide competition for the most excellent candidates. In other words, with the minimum requirements for a degree at a well-known university, several will do their best to compete within the limited quota with others. For instance, Imperial College London, which is known as one of the top 10 best universities in the world, demands a minimum GPA of 3.2, or first-class honour, for those who are interested in joining it. Despite there are thousands of applicants every year for their courses, they merely have between 50 and 100 quotas for each subject; most of them will be rejected, and the outstanding will be admitted. In conclusion, although several argue that everyone can be given the same opportunity to apply to a college's program, regardless of their previous educational experience, in contrast, I disagree with this view, as this practice will inhibit admission to see their endeavours in a novel institution and establish that type of standard can give them the top ones.