In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, the population of elderly beings is increasing. In this essay, I will explain why an aged population becomes a burden to the government and overshadow the advantages of having more older people. On the one hand, the increasing number of elderly persons shows the development of the countries. To begin with, the effectiveness of governments in improving their health systems could be seen in the improvement of life expectancy numbers. To illustrate this point, some people might have a longer life if they could maintain their well-being. By having more elderly society, people could develop trust in the healthcare services that are facilitated by the current regimes. Additionally, the senior demographics become living legends, which could allow future generations to gain a total understanding of their histories first-hand. Knowing history is fundamental for the development of the states. Therefore, these kinds of societies are essential to inherit knowledge. On the other hand, these generations cause several issues for the ruling powers for various reasons. Firstly, elderly societies place a financial burden on the government. This situation prevails because they are not actively working anymore, which means that they do not pay taxes. However, the governments still need to provide exceptional facilities that allow them to possess a decent life, such as housing and health treatments. Secondly, the population of countries commonly rises year by year. In order to have a solid and stable economic condition, the active-aged demographics are fundamental. If the increase in aged societies is not accompanied by the rise of young people, it will create new problems for the countries. To sum up, while the elderly communities could provide several benefits, such as showing the quality of healthcare and being living legends, the governments are burdened with the cost, and the demographic situation can be ineffective. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the demerits eclipse the merits.