In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

In today’s generation, several people are adopting the trend of living alone which was not the case in the earlier times. And this fashion certainly has a plethora of negative effects which will be explained further by giving relevant examples. To commence with, after reaching a certain age, the majority of the youth population decides to stay alone, mainly because they don’t want to be instructed or treated like a child anymore. Thus, they proceed with the idea of parting ways with their parents. However, this has a negative impact in the long run. For example, if one retains to reside with their guardian, they can be advised on matters ranging from choosing an apt course, handling money and tackling difficult situations which one has never experienced. Moreover, despite petty disagreements with siblings and other senior members, sticking together with family can help improve not only social relationships but also enhance overall well-being. To justify, when one moves to a different country for whatever reason, after a prolonged period, one realises the importance of bond and thus, desires to see their loved ones, if unable to do so, there’s a high chance of falling into depression. Even the researchers suggest, that staying lonely for a long period can have detrimental effects on one ’s behaviour and at the same time facing physical problems like dementia and high blood pressure. To conclude, the long-life experience of the parents giving valuable knowledge and guidance to their offspring and the growing bond with other family members proves to be significant and much more beneficial than leading a solitary life.