In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present world, many elderly people are having longer lives year by year. Some people say this tendency could cause many problems, especially for the government, while others think it could be advantageous. In my opinion, the prevalence of people who have longer lives has considerable benefits compared to its disadvantages. This essay will describe the advantages and the disadvantages, as well as relevant examples. On the one hand, having a longer age could be an example of a successful country managing its health facilities. For instance, the population of Japanese residents who achieved their age above 60 years are increasing each year. This is because the government have created a regulation that elderly people should do medical checks free of charge. As a consequence, the awareness of health conditions for old people will improve. Furthermore, long live people, who have encountered many problems, could share their life experiences with younger people. This could enhance youngsters' confidence when they are faced with certain problems. Lastly, people who have aged above 100 years might help scientists scrutinize historical events on their experience. On the other hand, the ubiquity of aged people could slow down countries' total productivity because mostly they are already retired. Moreover, the government is obligated to build more nursing homes to meet the necessities of elderly people. In conclusion, the benefits of older individuals' presence outweigh its disadvantages because it could indicate the progression of countries' outstanding medical facilities, and valuable life lessons, and help researchers to understand history thoroughly.