In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

There have been people suggesting that all the vehicles that run on the roads such as cars or buses will no longer have human drivers and instead, the vehicles will automated by AI. Although this situation has some drawbacks, the potential of a reduced proportion of traffic accidents outweighs any potential disadvantages. First of all, with the technological advancements today we have reached, there are lots of machines run by AI. In the future, it is assumed that cars, buses or trucks will be driverless. However, we,as humanity, still don’t trust them enough because of a lack of knowledge and we might feel unsafe with driverless cars in the future. Studies show that, when people ask to AI while they decide, they immediately ask for another human to be sure. And for its reasons, surveys indicate that people don’t rely on its decision-making mechanism more than their friends since they cannot be sure how they managed it. Thus, in the future, people may feel frustrated when using cars run by their own. Indeed, they don’t use them at all so the aim of driverless cars would fail. However, the possibility of reduced traffic accidents, in my opinion, outweighs any potential disadvantage. For instance, if you are driving after a sleepless long night, the possibility of an accident is 68% because of lack of attention.There are lots of proofs indicating that machines run by AI, cause fewer errors compared with human beings. They are much more efficient and accurate while doing tasks. Thus, if the vehicles no longer have human drivers, it means fewer accidents happening. In conclusion, there are some benefits and drawbacks if we would have driverless cars in the future. I strongly believe that the potential of no accidents happening outweighs any potential disadvantage.