Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a second language is a challenging process in an individual’s lifestyle, it is argued that a learning language course ought to be added to the curriculum at primary school. Learning more professionally and improving mind function are the benefits of an early start and a few thoughts are against this idea. there seem to be it has some advantages that outweigh the drawbacks, and this essay will explain why. Firstly, learning a second language requires lots of time and practice, starting from first years at school provides this opportunity for students to become more fluent and proficient in various parts of the language. Secondly, early exposure to a foreign language fosters cognitive abilities such as problem-solving skills and memory retention. In other words, the abilities that are needed in adulthood nurture in students. Consider a bilingual in a workplace as an example, this person has not only better skills to overcome challenges and memorize things better but also can interact globally with those company who speaks non-natives. By contrast, opponents of educating a further language to children at an early age point to the confusion of children, they believe they need time to learn their mother tongue perfectly and another course would be distracting for them. In addition, those who are against early learning mention that adding more courses to students’ schedules might be overwhelming. For instance, it may restrict the pupils from playing games and learning other foundational skills such as art and physical activities. In conclusion, learning a non-native language has beneficial effects on a child’s character and mind abilities, I personally believe that the bright sides exceed the drawbacks.