Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

It is true that the question of whether governments should create residential areas by constructing vertical buildings or providing horizontal ones remains a source of controversy. Although both solutions have their advantages, I believe that the construction of taller buildings could bring about more positive impacts. On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons why creating horizontal cities could lead to notable merits. The first reason is that the service expenditure in the accommodations is not as costly as in the vertical cities. For example, the security charge or elevator fees will not be included if people reside in merely a double-story building. Another point is that residents who live in such housing would find themselves more safer and comfortable. This is because they are capable of extricating easily from emergency cases, such as fire, construction collapse, and avoiding elevator accidents. Moreover, the roomy living spaces in horizontal centrals make a major contribution to rendering an enjoyable life that helps to release stress and strain for people. On the other hand, despite the arguments discussed above, I suppose that it is more beneficial to construct vertical buildings. One main reason is that such living areas can resolve the issue of accommodation shortage due to the population explosion in metropolitan centers. An explanation for this is that land on Earth will not grow any bigger while the human population is ever-increasing. If tall apartments are erected and chosen as a place of residence, a unit of land can accommodate a larger number of residents. A notable benefit can be considered is that a wide range of goods and services such as rental offices, shopping malls, and coffee shops are associated together in many skyscrapers in a ubiquitous way. As a result, people can enjoy a luxurious living standard which facilitates their work and study. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I am of the belief that while creating housing on a wider area of land has some effective impacts on the life of people generally, constructing vertical apartments would be a better solution for national authorities to address many pressing issues today.