Some people believe that restoration of old building costs too much. We should demolish them and build new one instead. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversy about an architecture issue regarding its efficiency in investing massive amounts of money to repair old constructions. Several people assert that old buildings should be dismantled because the fee of repair costs too much and it is far more valuable to put the money into constructing new buildings instead. I strongly agree with this statement. However, some people who disagree with the statement often insist on the historical meaning and value of the old buildings. Remembering history and learning from the past to move forward are truly important spirits that we have to keep always in mind, but I doubt the huge amount of investment for keeping the old building is necessary. When it comes to the massive investment of money, I do not believe the meaning of the old building outweighs the massive amount of money. There are a lot of other fields in which we can make progress in the modern world with money. Moreover, the architecture trends rapidly change as well as other parts of this modern world. It is difficult to stay balanced between old buildings and modern patterns of construction. From the perspective of architecture, the old building is the biggest obstacle to designing the whole city in a better combination and proper way. Additionally, the most important part of keeping the old buildings can cause some safety issues. Old constructions are very vulnerable to collapse, people living around the old building have to worry about it all the time. For example, the investigation of the old Seoul City Hall revealed that it was the most vulnerable construction to collapse soon, even though the government spent a lot of taxes to maintain it for historical reasons. As a result, the old one was demolished and the new city hall was built. A few years later after the new one was built, a survey found that building a new one could save the wasteful taxes into restoration and maximize the efficiency of the taxes as well as people around the building now feel more safer. In conclusion, it is also understandable to keep the old building for some reasons such as remembering the history. However, we have to prioritize the value of the money for the more progressive life.