In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some communities, people argue that children should be taught that having hard work will make their dreams come true. This statement has a negative and positive impact that I will explain in this essay. Suggesting to children that they can pursue their dreams as long as they put a big effort into it will make them optimistic person. Subsequently, they will be brave to have a high dream in their lives. For instance, a child from a low-income family aims to be a rich person someday although his family do not have enough money to give him an appropriate education. As a result of the advice, the child will work hard to get a lot of money by working from one place to another where the wages are not high enough. On the other hand, if in reality, children can not make their goals come true, they will think that the ones who give the advice, are untrustworthy. For example, a student joining a competition who already prepared and studied for a long time but eventually does not obtain any single award, is more likely to have a mental breakdown and not believe in his supporting teacher anymore. Moreover, the child is going to be a pessimistic person and finally does not want to own higher goals in his life. In conclusion, suggesting children to be hard workers person so that they can reach their goals can be an advantage which is to gain their confidence in achieving their dream, however, it can turn into disbelief when the dream is failed to get.