Many students find it harder to study when they are at university or college than when they were at school. Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem?

It is true that many students tend to meet several challenges due to the differences between studying at school and at college or university. To explain this tendency, I think that the reasons behind this phenomenon are the distinction of subjects and how to learn in these educational environments. My essay also mentions potential solutions relating to the convenience of technologies to solve this. To begin with, there are many factors contributing to the increased difficulty that students experience in higher education, compared to their time in school. Firstly, the main reason relates to the subjects they have to learn. If there is a plethora of fundamental knowledge that school’s syllabus teaches students can be seen in a variety of aspects such as math, geography or science, it is different for students to level up to university or college. Many classes in the tertiary levels tend to focus on one aspect depending on the majors students follow. To be more understandable, a university student’s specialization is economics and finance, for example, find more difficulties in their academic credits such as microeconomics, even though it is a high-level version of math which she or he had learnt since high school Moreover, acquiring knowledge in university or college is considered as tougher, because of the root of the distinctive learning methods. In Vietnam, for instance, teachers usually prepare diments for each lesson and it is compulsory for students to learn these by heart leading to the insurance of passing the tests. However, the opposite was true in university, professors often teach basic sections in class, thus it is obligatory for students to do more research by compiling materials and preparing lesson plans for their own to fully understand. There are many solutions that could be implemented to address these challenges. In the contemporary era, it is reckoned that the significant development of technological devices could improve students ’ path of intelligence. Firstly, having too many paper materials leads to difficulty in finding out what students need for each subject. People could take photos of these and upload them to a computer which could rearrange them into separate folders named to each class. As a result, students could open tons of documents with a click without messing around. Secondly, there are websites that enhance doing tasks. For example, Chat GBT, an AI chatbot would be a magic tool giving a variety of ideas whether university students are in a situation of running out of ideas for assignments or even answering tricky math questions. In conclusion, the transition from school to university or college should pose many pressures due to the difficulty of academic subjects and imparting knowledge. However, applying several digital technologies would strengthen learning well.