Some people think that tests of drugs on animals should be carried out as this would improve public health. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that animal testing should be executed as this procedure would improve public health. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that implementing animal testing can be beneficial for conducting biomedical research. One of the main reasons is that scientific experiments conducted on animals can provide crucial research on the possible reactions in the human body. Because there are a variety of animals that are biologically very similar to humans, the implementation of drugs on animals is critical for medical researchers to observe the potential effects of the medicine. Another reason can be the development of more effective medicine and surgical procedures as a result of animal testing. Due to the fact that several animals can closely mimic how the human body responds to different types of drugs, this procedure ensures the safety and effective result of a treatment when actually used for humans. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint that animal testing should be carried out. Firstly, there are many alternatives including non-animal methods that are as efficient as animal experiments. These alternatives can also demonstrate the effect of chemicals and treatments possible on the human body and are also more humane. Secondly, animal testing is ethically wrong as it violates the rights of an animal, forcing them to endure involuntary pain. For example, a recent study by Havard University suggests that more than 87% of the animals being used for animal testing died or experienced severe pain, causing them to suffer for the remaining course of their life. In conclusion, although animal testing is crucial in the medical field to improve public health, I'm convinced that there are various alternatives that can be used to reduce the lives of many innocent animals.