Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Despite the huge revolution of modern medicines these days, there are still numerous patients who heavily rely on traditional medicines and other options. At this point, contentions have been arising whether this trend tends to be jeopardous or not. From my perspective, this trend seems to create harmful habits among the population. In this essay, I will explore both sides of the impacts and elaborate my points more. To commence with, the rapid lifestyles of people nowadays can be seen as one of the factors that modify behaviour to other remedies such as herbs, acupuncture, or osteopathy. To illustrate more, they desire the symptoms to be alleviated as soon as possible and they are convinced that going to the hospital is time-consuming or exorbitant. Hence, people have turned to traditional healers and ancient medical knowledge more and more as they can instantly respond to these illnesses. However, non-conventional medicines may have some limited boundaries, mainly due to the lack of sufficient technology and intellect, unlike receiving treatment from professionals. Severe illnesses that require operations or chronic diseases that need intensive care from trained paramedics clearly reflect the incompetence of traditional medicine. For instance, chemotherapy is crucial for cancer patients to eradicate fast-growing cancer cells in their bodies. Therefore, regular health inspections with doctors are still necessary. In conclusion, thanks to the up-to-date knowledge in the medical field, people can consider alternative methods as parts of the remedy, but they should not abandon conventional medicines as they are more accurate and effective when it comes to serious diseases.